Adding Exercise to Your To Do List

What if I told you there was one thing you could do to increase your capacity to think, create, solve, increase your ability to take risks, throw yourself into uncertainty with confidence and be more attractive?!  Yes, all those things plus more & just because you made one thing a priority.

Exercise.

“The physical state of our bodies can either serve or subvert the quest to create genius. We all know this intuitively” (Fields, 2011).

If you don’t believe me, then ask one of the most successful entrepreneurs in the business.  Richard Branson.  Quoting one of my favorite books, The 4 Hour Body, Tim Ferris writes about a meeting held with the business tycoon.  The question was raised “How do you become more productive?”.  After moments of silence, each member of the meeting on the edge of their seats in anticipation, he answered succinctly;  “Work out.”  A no brainer.

The problem with our society is we put priority on all the wrong things, which in turn puts a damper on our health and essentially downgrades our ability to be more inventive & brave in the face of adversity.  We decide to put all our time and energy into working, while sitting, while on a computer (much like what I’m doing now), stressing about our ‘to do’ lists and bank accounts.  We forget that what our bodies need, is movement and physical stimulation. Though it sounds a bit counter-intuitive, it’s simple really.  Become more productive, more creative, & more successful by adding one more thing to your ‘to do’ list.

Personally, I can tell you I never would have survived Graduate school had I not exercised.  I am a much better person when I exercise, than if I don’t.  Stress dissipates, my mood stabilizes, I am more confident, I sleep better, think better, look and feel better.  If you don’t believe me, just ask my boyfriend.  He will, without hesitation, tell you tales of my non-exercising, moody alter ego, “Blogspork”.

The brain is a fascinating organ and exercise actually increases its capacity to evolve.  It’s called neuro-plasticity.  It’s somewhat similar to the idea of Epi-genetics; a popular idea that says we can manipulate our genes simple by changing our lifestyle & diets.  The act of exercising actually improves the ability of your brain to constantly rewire itself, growing more connections & essentially giving you more brain capacity as well as stabilizing your hormones (chemical makeup of the brain).

So go on… get outside… get in the gym & get MOVING.  Your body and mind will thank you!

 

 

Sources:

Ferris, T. (2010). The four-hour body: an uncommon guide to rapid fat loss, incredible sex, and becoming superhuman. (1 ed.). New York, NY: Random House, Inc.

Fields, J. (2011, September 29). The creative brain on exercise. Fast Company, Retrieved from http://www.fastcompany.com/1783263/the-creative-brain-on-exercise

Comments
3 Responses to “Adding Exercise to Your To Do List”
  1. sissi0612 says:

    Exactly! I kept swimming even during my whole pregnancy and it turned out to be very easy and smooth for my labor

  2. Kerri says:

    great post erin! i’m gonna share with the folks over at 5B CrossFit. thank you!

Leave a Reply

